Akaltara, Chhattisgarh

Akaltara is the district of Janjgir-Champa in the Indian state of Chhattisgarh. Thakur Chhedi Lal, a prominent liberation fighter, was born there.

Places to visit

  • Shivrinarayan : The Laxminarayan Temple is located in the town of Shivrinarayan near Janjgir. This shrine, located on the banks of the Mahanadi River, is reported to have been established during the 11th century by the monarchs of Hayhay Vansh. Furthermore, history has it that the Ashrama of Shabri, a follower of Lord Rama in the Ramayana, can be discovered here. The architecture of the Laxminarayan Temple is magnificent and depicts the Vaishnav Shaili. This temple holds a ceremony on the day of Magh Purnima.
  • Distance:Shivrinarayan is 42 kilometers away from Akaltara

  • Pithampur Temple : The Pithampur Temple, also known as the Kaleshwarnath Mandir, is situated on the banks of the Hasdeo River. This temple is devoted to Lord Shiva. The main draw of this temple is the annual celebration of Lord Shiva's marriage ritual, which includes Naga saints. In addition, a ten-day celebration is held every year on the anniversary of Maha Shivaratri and Rang Panchami.
  • Distance: Pithampur Temple is 30 kilometers away from Akaltara

  • Dewar Ghata : This is a beautiful location at the confluence of three rivers: the Mahanadi, the Lilagar, and the Shivnath. Visitors can enjoy the panoramic view of nature with their families and friends. Photography enthusiasts would undoubtedly return to Dewar Ghata.
  • Distance: Dewar Ghata is 37 kilometers away from Akaltara

How to Reach

  • Akaltara is located on the Howrah-Mumbai Main Line and is also connected to the South Eastern and Central Railway Rail Lines. The two railway stations in this district are Naila and Champa. Akaltara lies in the district of Janjgir-Champa, which is located in Janjgir and is accessible by road via many modes of transportation. It is around 65 kilometers from Bilaspur and 170 kilometers from Raipur. The Raipur Airport is the closest to Akaltara and connects to other significant destinations.

Copyright 2012-2024 Indiamap Digital Private Limited. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Use