cities & towns

Cities and Towns

There are about 14 cities and town in Goa – divided into North Goa and South Goa regions. Out of these, four are considered most prominent: 1. Vasco Da Gama – the capital city pf Goa, 2. Panaji – (also known as Panjim), 3. Marmagao, and 4. Madgaon. While Panaji is a busy port city, Marmagao specializes in the shipment of iron ore and manganese. Madgaon, on the other hand has many industrial estates, cold-storage facilities, and a vast produce market. Vasco Da Gama , the capital city is named after the Portuguese explorer and navigator Vasco da Gama, who had held the title of Governor of Portuguese India when Goa had been a Portuguese territory.

Copyright 2012-2022 Indiamap Digital Pvt Ltd. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Use